Update 2022/7/1

1889 Nihon Law School (present: College of Law) founded.
The Founder was the then Minister of Justice, Count Akiyoshi YAMADA.
Count Kentaro KANEKO, LL.D. (Hon.), the later Minister of Justice, inaugurated as the First Director.
1893 The first Graduation Ceremony held. Baron Yasukowa MATSUOKA, the later Minister of Agriculture and Commerce, inaugurated as the Second Director (later, First President).
Alumni Association organized.
1898 Higher Courses established and the graduates awarded the Degree of Bachelor of Japanese Law.
1901 Higher Teachers’ department (present: College of Humanities and Sciences) established.
1903 Renamed to Nihon University
1904 Become a university under the Specialized School Order.
Commerce department (present: College of Economics and College of Commerce) established.
1906 The first student sent to Europe. The first Foundation Anniversary Ceremony held.
1920 Become a university based on the University Order. The first female students granted admission.
The School Song composed.
School of Higher Engineering (present: College of Science and Technology) established.
1921 Aesthetic department (present: College of Art) established. Toyo Dental School (founded 1916, present: School of Dentistry) absorbed into Nihon University. The College Color decided. The first issue of Nihon University Newspaper published.
1922 Yasukowa MATSUOKA inaugurated as the First President of Nihon University.
1923 Baron Kiichiro HIRANUMA, LL.D., the later Prime Minister, inaugurated as the Second President.
1925 Medical Department of Technical College (present: School of Medicine) established.
1929 New School Song (present school song) composed.
1933 Mannosuke YAMAOKA, LL.D. inaugurated as the Third President.
1936 The University Flag designed.
1943 College of Agriculture (present: College of Bioresource Sciences) established.
1946 Fumiaki KURE, D.Econ. inaugurated as the Fourth President.
1947 Engineering Department of Technical College (present: College of Engineering) moved to Koriyama-shi, Fukushima prefecture.
1948 Correspondence Division established.
1949 Become a university under the new educational system. “The Founding Spirit of the University” instituted.
1950 Junior College established.
1951 Graduate Schools based on the new school system established.
1952 Industrial Administration department (present: College of Industrial Technology) established.
Department of Pharmacy (present: College of Pharmacy) established.
1958 Kikushiro NAGATA, LL.D. inaugurated as the Fifth President.
1959 “The Founding Spirit of the University” revised.
1969 Masaru SUZUKI, D.M. inaugurated as the Sixth President.
1971 Matsudo Dental University (present: College of Dentistry at Matsudo) established.
1978 College of International Relations established.
1984 Masayuki TAKANASHI, LL.D. inaugurated as the Seventh President.
1989 The Centennial Anniversary Ceremony held.
1990 Shigenori KINOSHITA, D.Eng. inaugurated as Eighth President.
1993 Yoshio SEZAI, D.Litt. inaugurated as the Ninth President.
1996 Yukiyasu SEZAI, MD. inaugurated as the Tenth President.
2005 Katsue KOJIMA, D.Eng. inaugurated as the Eleventh President.
2008 Takeo SAKAI, DVM, Ph.D. inaugurated as the Twelfth President
2011 Kichibee OTSUKA, D.D.S., Ph.D. inaugurated as the Thirteenth President
2021 Naoto KATO, Ph.D. inaugurated as the Fourteenth President
2022 Takeo SAKAI, DVM, Ph.D. inaugurated as the Fifteenth President
2024 Shinichiro OHNUKI, Ph.D.  inaugurated as the Sixteenth President